PIDP 3250 Classroom management techniques

I find it fascinating how the different learning techniques are coming together to form Discussion Forums.
I am excited to be a participant and learn from my peers about classroom management techniques. Drawing from my own experiences as a student I remember how difficult it was for me to stay focused in class. Our teachers were the ultimate authority figures and they were the ones who were setting the rules for us. We, as students, were never participating in the creation of classroom rules. Our teachers, with this rigid approach to classroom management, were trying to make teaching easier. In an effort to move toward student centered teaching, as a future instructor, my time might be better spent cultivating a classroom where students are engaged, rather than coming up with a long list of class rules and then trying to implement them. I can see engaging students in helping to create class rules, in today’s tech world, by using Blog, Twitter, text or other media. At the beginning of the course my students will be led through a discussion designed to establish goals and needs for the classroom. I will use the following open ended questions to start the conversation:

  1. Why are we here?
  2. What do we need?

This activity encourages students to become contributing members of their classrooms.

One of the YouTube videos about adult  training techniques  posted by a classmate is very educational. It is created to demonstrate how to deal with disruptive learners. The tactics used are highlighted very clearly. The instructor was making eye contact or moving toward the disruptive person. He was silent and waiting for the disruption to end. He acknowledged the input and asked for help from the group by asking:
• “What does everyone else think?”
We are also working on covering online classroom management techniques. So far I do not see much difference between classroom or online classroom management. Student engagement is critical and the goal is to provide a safe learning environment for our students regardless of the platform. Welcoming students and encouraging ice breakers are typical activities in both delivery methods. In instructing online courses I will read all posts made by students just as I would pay attention to students’ comments if I would teach in a classroom. However, at the beginning of an online course we need to make sure that our students are aware of what composes reasonable online commentary. Also, some online communication can be easily misinterpreted. To reread our posts before publishing them is a good advise.

